The Wienerberger Brick Award

Brick Award 18 Submission ad banner 530x306
The Wienerberger Brick Award celebrates outstanding architecture in clay. Find out more past winners, our judges, the beautiful Brick Book series - and how to enter this prestigious competition.

The award

For more than a decade, Wienerberger AG has hosted the international Wienerberger Brick Award every two years, providing a platform for excellent Brick architecture and the Architects that designed them.
Wienerberger initiated the Wienerberger Brick Award in 2004 to put this natural building material into the spotlight - in order to demonstrate how exciting, exceptional and modern the use of Brick can be. And now, the spectrum of applications also incorporates building solutions using classic clay Blocks and Roof tiles and the creative application of clay Pavers and ceramic Facade panels.
Although Wienerberger is the host of the award, it is an independent award and the use of Wienerberger products in the nominations is not necessary for participation. Over the past few years, projects have been submitted from all over the world and nominations and winners have been chosen where a wide range of manufacturers and brick types in all colours and shapes have been used.

How to participate in the award

Architects, international architecture critics and journalists are able to submit projects.
The submission process is via a straight forward and easy to understand submission tool . Participants are asked to fill out an online template comprising of basic project data, a short informative text describing the project, as well as to upload pictures and plans of the building. 

An important criteria for submission is that a significant part of the project must consist of clay building materials and it must be a current project, which has been completed no later than a few years prior to the award year applied.

The submission period for the Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 is open until Thursday 20th April 2017.

Find out more about the submission process, criteria and timing of the Wienerberger Brick Awards


The jury and winners in 2016

The award comprises of different categories that are subject to slight change depending on the year and the development of trends and current topics at the time. For the Wienerberger Brick Award 2016, the following categories were awarded: Residential Use, Public Use, Re-Use, Urban Infill and Special Solution.

A record number of over 600 projects were submitted for the Wienerberger Brick Award in 2016. An independent pre-jury panel consisting of architecture critics and journalists had the challenging task to narrow down this number to a total of 50 - split into the five categories, which were nominated for the award. Subsequently, an international jury of renowned Architects selected the winners within the categories as well as a Grand Prize winner.

Previous jury members have included architects such as Wang Shu, (Pritzker prize winner of 2012), Laura Andreini, (Mies van der Rohe 2015 finalist), and Rudolf Finsterwalder, (Fritz Höger Grand Prize winner 2014), to mention just a few.

Assessment criterion include - innovative exterior and interior design and the skilful use of brick, along with functionality, sustainability and energy efficiency. Special attention is also directed to how the building blends in with and positively influences the surroundings, as well as to the general quality of architecture and its form and aesthetics - including innovative solutions and new approaches.

The winners of the Wienerberger Brick Award are announced biannually at an award ceremony and are presented with prize money.


+ Find out who won the Wienerberger Brick Award in 2016


The Brick Book

The top 50 projects and the prize-winning buildings of the Wienerberger Brick Award are presented in an accompanying, beautifully designed architecture book called BRICK. The book presents an overview on current developments and trends in international brick architecture, with its remarkable range of applications.

The projects are presented with comprehensive texts by international architecture journalists, fascinating pictures and informative plans. Additionally, there are essays on current topics by renowned journalists and architects at the start of each category. The book series started in 2004 with the first Wienerberger Brick Award and the 7th edition, the BRICK 16 book, is now out.

+ Find out more about the Brick book.


Architectum magazine

Find out more about some of the projects nominated by reading our special edition of architectum magazine:

Related articles